Author Topic: Illustrator to ArcGIS using map publisher  (Read 2514 times)

kevthaisen

• Hathor (Active Member)
    • Email
Illustrator to ArcGIS using map publisher
« on: March 08, 2013, 10:06:37 AM »
First, I have to apologize, I am new to using illustrator and map publisher and could use some basic help.

I am trying to use map publisher to export layers from illustrator to ArcGIS, but I'm having an issue with the projected image(s) that was downloaded from Map a planet and used for mapping.  Since the mapping was done on a projected image, I have black areas of no-data, and I can't seem to figure out how to get the boundaries of the projection defined so that I can get the image properly referenced in map publisher and export the individual layers.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Kevin

thare

• GIS Support Team
  • Isis (Extreme Power Member)
    • http://webgis.wr.usgs.gov
    • Email
Re: Illustrator to ArcGIS using map publisher
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2013, 09:51:58 PM »
I was hoping someone would help out by now since I haven't used map publisher for years. For more graphic/GIS mix I switched to Canvas w/ GIS. We only use it for conversion from Illustrator files into Shapefiles (not for new mapping projects). This might not help with Map Publisher but here is my general workflow.

(1) Densify (add) vertices a couple times to all features. This helps preserve bezier curves into curves as defined by vertices.
(2) separate features by type or unit (all faults, grabens, etc) in seperate layers.
(3) export grid for control points
(4) export every layer (feature type) as a shapefile. This means I end up with a mess of shapefiles.
--note I am note dealing with projections yet.
(5) load all exported shapefiles into ArcMap.
(6) define a grid in ArcMap using the appropriate projection as the original Illustrator map.